Lucky 7

The first day of summer. It’s been 7 years and boy do I feel lucky. Happy anniversary babe! From Liberty University to where we are now, it has been a thrill of a ride. I remember when Chad and I were just in “the friends zone” but beneath the surface we knew it was much more. I remember the first movie we ever saw together as friends (and our Sounds of Liberty music director). It was the first Shrek. I remember the first time we kissed outside the Movies 10 in Lynchburg- we had tried to watch Bandits but it was going to run over curfew so we had to leave early.  A bit of drama ensued after that, but we finally got together. I remember the first Christmas with my family, newly engaged, and he must’ve thought how interesting it was that a family would be so musical sitting around playing and singing for hours. Our limo driver didn’t show up to the wedding in a limo, but in an old blue Lumina with a dent in it. Our good friends drove us in their F150 instead. I remember when Chad cut his hand in the kitchen with a steak knife- a big medical expense we weren’t expecting and pretty alarming for a guitar player. Loss of loved ones, family, friends. We’ve hit many bumps in the road, I’m sure there will be more.

But through it all, from the beginning, I fell in love with Chad’s ability to make me laugh. If laughter makes a heart merry, and merry is good like medicine, then I’d say that is one of the key ingredients to a healthy and great marriage- being able to laugh together.

Proverbs 17:22 A merry heart does good, like medicine,
But a broken spirit dries the bones.

A favorite wedding present we got was our kitchen aid mixer, which wasn’t actually given to us, it was what we bought after we exchanged all $250 worth of items received that we did not register for! I haven’t used it much lately, since those usually involve bread or cake, which we aren’t really eating right now… and I think the worst gift we got was a loaf pan with a purple rose on it that we didn’t register for. It just wasn’t our style and didn’t go. Chad says the best was our honeymoon, and I guess I would have to agree- it was at St Thomas in the US Virgin Islands, a sweet gift from his parents. His pick for worst was a re-gifted glass bowl wrapped in a Belk box that we found did not even come from Belk, and was therefore un-returnable.

What was your best and worst wedding gift?

1 Comment

Filed under family

One response to “Lucky 7

  1. JBK

    A great love story. Happy 7!

Leave a Reply

