Losing Weight to Gain

A sweet friend of mine Michelle Kapusta began training for a 1/2 marathon after her hubby trained and completed a whole marathon. I had been doing Beachbody’s Power 90 for several weeks, and it’s a great program but I just got bored with it. In the past, I have always lost weight more quickly when I do more running. But I HATE to run. Well I did. I decided to switch up P90 here and there and add something different to the mix, but I didn’t really have a structured routine. Michelle emailed me a link for a 5k race that Paws4People are doing in Wilmington, NC. The idea of training and working toward a goal and for a good cause got me excited. About running… yeah. So here I am. I started using the Couch to 5K training schedule by CoolRunning.com and I don’t think I’ll be able to do the P4P 5k race since it’s on a Sunday morning in Wilmington and I just moved to Myrtle Beach. Β My training won’t be quite complete by April 18th…but I’m trying to find a good race a little further out that may be closer.

I’m in week 5 and it looks like this:

It’s been great accountability and encouraging to see my run log using RunKeeper.com. I’ll be honest, week five of nine was hard. I’ve lost a total of 5.4 pounds so far. Now this may not seem like a lot to you, and training to run 1-3 miles at a time may be easy peasey to you, but this is hard for me. For someone who’s never been real athletic who doesn’t enjoy most exercise. But the more I do it, the more I like it. Thank you endorphins. And the more I see results, the more I am reminded of my goal: Lose weight to gain.

I want to start a family in the next year or 2 and I DON’T want to gain baby weight on TOP of what I already weigh. I also want to feel more confident about myself on and off stage.Β I am watching what and how much I eat. I am limiting sugar. I am trying to hit 1/2 to 3/4 of a gallon of water everyday. I journal and email everything I eat, workout, and water intake to a good friend and accountability partner.

I want to gain a healthy outlook on life and a healthier lifestyle in our family. The hubby Chad has also been blessed by a “secret elf” who paid for his 5 day a week 5:30AMΒ Adventure Bootcamp training that some friends at Barefoot Church run and he has been doing great!

Next blog I’ll post more on Chad’s experience and the grocery shopping class I got to go to!

“NOTHING WILL WORK UNLESS YOU DO.” – John Wooden

2 Comments

Filed under weightloss/fitness

2 responses to “Losing Weight to Gain

  1. Yay….you’re doing great!! Keep it up, you will be amazed how the endurance continues to build up!

  2. Angela Barker

    I saw your cool run tracker thing on FB lately! Good for you – you’re going to cross that line, feel great, and help a good cause:) Can’t wait to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

