“See Ya Later”

It’s been a long time since a particular person or family I know has gone through such painful, confusing circumstances that it has conjured up my dire need to pray. And I don’t mean that in a flippant, whatever kind of way, or that I don’t pray much. I mean in the sense that because I care SO much for those people and hurt right along with them, that my focus is really honed in on lifting them up in prayer. This happened about a month and 1/2 ago to some of my closest friends during one of the worst times in their family history, and constantly throughout that whole week my main focus was them. But I really couldn’t do a thing about it. But I could pray. Not that I don’t think prayer is extremely important. But you know how some circumstances REALLY open your eyes to the power of it? Yeah. And it should be a privilege to pray for anybody, not just the close ones.

Ephesians 6:18 – Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere.

This made me realize that in our Christian subculture, “I’m prayin’ for ya” or “I’ll be prayin’ for you” has really become like the Christian “See ya later” or “Welp, hope it works out for ya, thinkin’ good thoughts your way”! This is terrible. But we’ve all done it. Even with the best intentions of really praying for them or their situation later. We have the privilege of interceding for that person and really being there for them. I’ve begun making a conscious effort to immediately pray when I say I will as soon as someone asks for it. If time permits, I should even stop and pray for them right then. Not only do I believe that in that instant the simple act of praying in their presence can bring them such a level of comfort and encouragement, the begging of God to work in their life I think softens the heart of God. I believe that whether the outcome is something we want or not, the power of the Holy Spirit can be unleashed and his glory revealed.

James 5:16 …The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and produces wonderful results.

So when you say “I’m praying for ya” or “I’ll be praying for ya” – DO it. Right then. The days of “See ya later” are over!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

