“Those” Friends

You know “those” friends? Those special friends that somehow often come up in everyday conversation? People that left a mark (or several) on your life that have helped shape the way you live yours? Those friends who no matter how much time has passed you seem to be able to pick up right where you left off when you are able to get together with them?

Little did I know that a girl name Patience would have much more of an impact on my life later on than she did as my 2nd semester roomie at Liberty University. Don’t get me wrong, we always had great talks, she was inspiration, encouragement and fire. (Redheads usually are. =)

Over the last 8 1/2 years I’ve gotten to know Mrs. Patience Roddy Leino and her hubby Jordan. It’s hard to believe time has gone by that quickly. They have been friends, encouragers, fellow musicians and worship leaders.  We got to catch up with them a couple weeks ago and it was wonderful.

Somehow the funny stories, music stories, and moving stories involving the Leinos come up in conversation fairly often these days. I’m such a nerd, I’m getting teary-eyed right now as I type and remember a blog I wrote about them in ’07. I recently sat down at Chickfila with some friends. And as I was bragging on how absolutely gorgeous their 5 month old baby girl Eliana is, pulling up Facebook pictures on my phone showing off the pristine blue eyes (just like her mom), I somehow started sharing a brief and probably muddied up version of their story, and almost was in tears. Again, I’m a waterhead when it comes to certain stories… A story about their firstborn son Isaac that lived to be about the same age as Eliana is now… he touched lives all around the world, and so did the strong faith and testimony of his parents.

These past memories, stories, and even weekly blogs of Patience’s still inspire me to live a Godward life today. They truly choose to live in such a way that God is at the center of everything they do. She’s encouraged and challenged me to be thoughtful, to seek the heart of Jesus, to always build up and honor my husband (especially in public), to be the same person at home as I am on stage, to be slow in speaking and quick in listening, to persevere in every trial and trust that God means for you to live your life on purpose for his glory no matter in happy times or sad.

I encourage you to read their story from beginning to end, here. (Or rather bottom to top on this blog.) It will move your heart and challenge where you think your faith is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

