I Did It My Way

I just had to re-post this. My dad got it in an email from his former pastor Raymond Horne who just retired this summer… He doesn’t blog I don’t think but sends devotions and writes alot. I can really relate to this, I’ve found myself wanting to do things my way in the past, reaped the consequences and the pain of it, and come full circle wanting my desires to become God’s desires.  There’s some great insight to this passage, an incredible truth to his words.

Old Blue Eyes, Frank Sinatra used to sing, “The record shows, I took the blows and did it my way.” Sometimes God will let you do things your way – then let you deal with the consequences! When you insist on having something that He in His wisdom has withheld, He steps back and says, ‘O.K., have it your way.’ The Bible says that because of how the Children of Israel  “quickly forgot what he had done, wouldn’t wait for his counsel… he gave them what they asked for, but he sent a plague along with it…” (Psalm 106:13-15 NLT) That’s the formula for spiritual barrenness!

When God called Moses to deliver the Children of Israel, he decided to do it his way. He saw an Egyptian beating a Hebrew slave, but instead of consulting God he took matters into his own hands by killing the abuser. Before he did, the Bible says he ‘looked this way and that… ‘ (Exodus 2:12 NKJ) – but he never looked up! He was more concerned about ‘audience response’ than ‘God response’. God had to teach Moses that his orders came from Him! After Moses dug a hole and tried to hide the work of his flesh, God allowed it to be exposed. Why? To show Moses that by doing things his way, he couldn’t keep a single soldier buried in sand, whereas by doing things God’s way, he was able to bury a whole army in the depths of the Red Sea! So today, make up your mind to do it ‘God’s way’!

3 Comments

Filed under spiritual life

3 responses to “I Did It My Way

  1. Yep. Been there, done that, bought that tee-shirt. I have wasted alot of time in the past doing things my way. But God has proven to me over and over again that If I would just do it HIS way the first time, I could be spared alot of time and pain. But, some of us just have to learn the hard way some times.

    Very insightful post Rebekah!

  2. karen

    great post rebekah and oh sooo true. don’t we love to do things our own way and hopefully realize that God is the one who needs to call the shots, not us!!

  3. Rfox

    Good word. I’d love to hear more specifics this weekend.

Leave a Reply

