On time encouragement

Truth be told, these have been some of the darkest days recently. Being in a holding pattern just wears on your soul sometimes, you don’t want to do anything, you’re frustrated, you can’t figure out why God has you in this still place. You question, you wonder “Why God, if I’m trying hard to follow you, are you keeping me here?” Is God really at work? And then you see evidence of it. Evidence like this story. Evidence like people speaking into your life at just the right time. An on-time kind of word.

I can think of several instances recently, even in small ways someone has indirectly or directly given me a word of encouragement.

  • Scott Randlett at C3 Church spoke at the weekend service a couple weeks ago that was so relevant to my life and brought a word so strong on victory. Like when Moses is reminding the Israelites of how God has provided in the past and yet they still don’t trust him. We must know that God has given us the land, he has promised to bring us through to the other side, but we can’t be afraid of what might be over there if God has promised to take care of us. But before we can receive the things from the hand of God, we first have to focus on the face of God.
  • Martha at C3 Church said something in the middle of a powerful worship moment at April’s First Wednesday (even though I was sick with a cold on my couch at home watching the live feed). As they were singing Hillsong’s “With Everything” she began talking about when you have found yourself in a deep pit, to praise God anyway! To sing anyway! Let go and give everything to him. It can be difficult to sing and praise God in the midst of adversity, even for someone like me who loves to sing. But when you do, when you choose to lift up God’s name even when you don’t feel like it, you will find he will lift you up and sustain you. It honors him.
  • @krystalb said on Twitter yesterday about Mom still fighting melanoma cancer and Dad still out of work, but that they are doing wonderful. That God is doing a GREAT work at their very WORST. God IS doing a great work at our very worst of times, even if we can’t see it!

And finally an email from one of my best friends that I keep revisiting every couple of days:

Hi!
I was studying my Bible study, hoping to receive a Word from God about my situation, but I kept thinking of you.  So, I guess that’s the Holy Spirit working on your behalf.
Here’s what I read:
Sometimes God’s silence is because of our sin.  Confess and repent of any known sin.  If you have already done that, there may be another reason for God’s silence.  God’s silence sometimes means He is ready to bring into your life a greater revelation of Himself than you have ever known.  Take the story of Lazarus.  Remember how Jesus waited until Lazarus was dead for four days to come.  He said that he loved Lazarus and Martha and Mary, yet he heard their cry for Him and He was silent.  He let Lazarus die and even let them bury him.  Martha said to Jesus, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.”  It was as if the Holy Spirit was saying, “Yes, if I had been there, I would have healed Lazarus, but you already know I can do that.  I wanted to share with you that I am the Resurrection and the Life.”
I know you are in a holding pattern, but just wait . . . get ready for your breakthrough.

I love you.

Joi

 

Have JOY, God IS at work, this season is just that- only a season! God’s hand WILL move, but you gotta be seeking his face first. You have to know him. I have so much to be thankful for! I will have an awesome testimony to share with others once I’ve come out on the other side. Do not be afraid, God is with you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

