Top 3’s of Christmas

I love the Christmas season. Family, friends, food, and more food.  Dad reading the story of Jesus’ birth at the fireplace, harmonious melodies throughout the house (or your car) and the glorious smells of spiral honey ham, gingerbread, and Candy Cane Hershey Kisses. (Ok, that last one doesn’t necessarily fill the house, but they are oh so tasty.)

So here’s some of my top 3’s of the Christmas season:

Ultimate Fave: Chad proposing in the middle of a Christmas parade in Blowing Rock, NC – BEST gift ever!!!

c_r-proposal-nov-2002

 

Music

1. Amy Grant, A Christmas Album – 1983

2. The Carpenters, Christmas Portrait – 1978

3. Mariah Carey, Merry Christmas – 1994

And I’m still a big fan of these at Christmas time, so don’t knock ’em!

 

Food

1. Reese’s Peanut Butter Chip Chocolate Fudge, dad and I would make it ever year since 7th grade

2. Grandma’s cornbread dressing, I also helped dad every year and now carry on the tradition

3. Homemade tamales and tortillas from my granny and aunts on my mom’s (Hispanic) side, yum-o!

 

Best of Childhood Gifts 

1. Nintendo, 1992

2. Baby Alive, 1990

3. My first Sony boombox w/ Cd player AND cassette player, 1995

 

Worst of Childhood Gifts

1. A pack of blank recordable cassette tapes

2. Perfumed dusting powder- it was strong as all get-out and busted all over my jeans

3. A plastic, cross with open bible clock

 

Now leave me some comments with your Christmas faves or best/worst of gift you received as a kid.

3 Comments

Filed under family, holiday

3 responses to “Top 3’s of Christmas

  1. 3 best gifts as a kid

    1) GI Joe Aircraft Carrier (Awesomeness)

    2) Trampoline

    3) My first Les Paul (sold to Jeff Kapusta – he sold to a guy named Travis – ???)

  2. jbk

    l. First Christmas with Chad
    2. My first bride doll – she was three feet tall and beautiful..she lives in a closet in my guest bedroom because I cut her hair when I thought I wanted to be a hairdresser (I was 8 what do you expect)and
    3. Christmas 1996 – Sammy gave me a beautiful diamond. When we were engaged we were so poor that we could not afford one but Christmas of our 25th wedding anniversary he gave me a beautiful diamond and I was so happy!

  3. jillbarbour

    My favorite Christmas gift were a pair of black leather knee high boots by Steve Madden. They were awesome.

    Worst??? bad clothes

Leave a Reply

