Humbly grateful

This is a couple days early, but since I’ve been thinking about it I figured I’d go ahead and post. Something that’s always stuck with me over the years is an old song I sung as a kid- it was actually a kids song from a musical Back at the Creekbank written by an awesome lady and Dove award-winning Christian children’s music writer Kathie Hill, whom I had the privilege to work for in Nashville for a while. Her musicals and songs are geared to present virtues and values to children while shining the light of Jesus and message of hope.

The chorus went like this:

Are you humbly grateful, or grumbly hateful?

What’s your attitude?

Do you grumble and groan?

Or let it be known you’re grateful for all God’s done for you?

I’ve done plenty of groaning before. Sometimes it can even be hard not to. But here’s a few things that I’m thankful for:

  1. My husband Chad who loves Jesus, sticks by me no matter what, makes me smile, makes me laugh, picks up my socks and earrings that I like to leave lying around everywhere, and loves me no matter what.
  2. For a season, getting one of the best jobs I’ve ever had (in Nashville) with the best boss who allowed me to grow and learn more.
  3. Lifechurch.tv peeps and Craig Groeschel’s messages that impacted me in a big way and highlighted areas of my that I needed to trust God more with.
  4. My mom– who is the kindest, most compassionate, sweet-spirited nurse on the face of the planet. She works her buns off in the critical care unit of the hospital and still has time to keep my side of the family together, reach out to her church members and community. If I could be like anyone at all, it’d be her.
  5. Food & shelter- understatement of the year.
  6. My dog, Chewie. What a sweet lovable dog! (I used to never be a dog person, but I’m hooked!)
  7. My dad, who always supports me, gives encouragement, and wise advice, no matter what ups and downs we have or boo-boos we make. (and he still thinks I sing good)
  8. That we always have Lifepoint Church and C3 Church to come home to and call family here in NC. And they’re impacting lives for Jesus by leaps and bounds.
  9. That God allows us to “color outside the lines” for a bit and orchestrates a way to get us to color inside.
  10. Having awesome in-laws that always have an upstairs loft to live in when we need to and are able help provide when we’re in a pinch.
  11. Knowing I’ll still get a few Christmas presents (I hope, anyway!) despite our cruddy economy- we really are a blessed nation.
  12. Even after a year away people like Pastor Matt Fry and Martha still challenge us to step out of the boat, inspire us with their leadership and love of people and love for God.
  13. That God provided me with a part time temp job within only a week of moving back to NC.
  14. Laughter and good music and dvr. =)
  15. Having real good friends that ask you how you’re doing & how they can pray. And then they really do. And then they ask “follow up” questions later to check in again.
  16. That no matter where you are or what you’ve done, there is ALWAYS hope and forgiveness in Jesus.

Now let’s eat! Let the festivities begin!



1 Comment

Filed under family, random, spiritual life

One response to “Humbly grateful

  1. I love it girl! I just put Briley to bed and I am so thankful to have her in our lives this year. I am overwhelmed with gratitude for my father’s health and a clean bill of health after a horrible year of cancer. I’m thankful for my family and my wonderful husband. And, more than that, I’m thankful for Rebekah’s awesome turkey in a bikini picture:)

Leave a Reply

