Singin’ at the Ryman

So I’ve been out of touch for a little while…for all those who have been on the edge of their seats waiting for the next update (because there are so many) I have had some pretty cool things going on. Between work and play, I’ve been keeping myself pretty busy.

 

Ending Fan Fair week (or more known as CMA Fest now) on June 8th I was able to be a part of a show called Sunday Mornin’ Country at the Ryman auditorium. I had 3 days of rehearsals with the back up choir I sang in called the Country Chorale. They do this show every year for the past 20 years or so. My dad used to be involved in it when we lived here, helping direct/produce and lead the choir and was on a few Hee Haw episodes. It was cool to see Ricky Scaggs and The Whites, Linda Davis of the popular Reba duet “Does He Love You” and Charlie Louvin of the Louvin Brothers. Brenda Lee also hosted. Many of the performers and people involved were regulars on Hee Haw like Cowboy Joe Babcock of the Hee Haw Quartet, Ronni Stoneman, and The Nashville Edition back up singers who have sung on thousands of recording sessions for countless artists like Elvis, Tammy Wynette and Merle Haggard over 4 decades (they are in their 70’s and came together for the first time in like 15 years).

 

Rehearsing for the show I also got a crash course in the Nashville Number System. If you’re not familiar, it’s a way of reading music through numbers transcribed by denoting the scale degree on which a chord is built. It developed by the Jordanaires and Charlie McCoy as a means to transpose a song quickly. I held my own pretty well and it was fun to learn. This is what alot of the musicians and singers in Nashville have been using for a long time.

I’ve also been performing at open mic/writers rounds with a couple other people and I’ve really enjoyed that. I’m hoping to record some original songs soon and get some up on the myspace page. Stay tuned. I will try to update more often!

2 Comments

Filed under music

2 responses to “Singin’ at the Ryman

  1. yw

    Glad to see you are back and alive and doing well

  2. jillbarbour

    you need to start blogging again!

Leave a Reply

