Unsettled

I had a friend on the phone today and little did I know that my random call to her in the car would mean so much to me. You ever know the feeling of when you say something, and you really mean it, but you don’t know how much you mean until you hear someone else that was impacted by what you said? That was me. I love doing life with some people- even if it’s every few weekends, and being able to call on a friend when things really suck. For her, it was the ups-and-downs of life, frustrating job situations, and losing a baby. I can’t even imagine what that must feel like. But she encouraged me so much and it meant alot that she’s going through some of the same things…For me it’s the fear of losing a job soon, not knowing where rent will come from, dealing with past bad choices financially. But I was reminded of my own words from the stage- and these moments make it all the more rewarding. To express your soul and hopefully be as authentic as you can. I remember setting up a song and saying that even though life hurts sometimes, and God gives us blessings and sometimes He pulls back some things for unknown reasons, my prayer is that I would still choose to praise His name, to stick with Him the way he says he will never leave or forsake me. To truly take joy through the sorrows. I hope whatever you are going through, you will push through it and be able to say the same. It’s unsettling but the fact remains that God is faithful.

2 Cor. 12:8-10
8But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Comments

Filed under family, spiritual life, worship

2 responses to “Unsettled

  1. notice it says “delight in……insults” isn’t that wierd. just something I hadn’t thought of before….

  2. Paul….There is no person in the Bible whom I wrestle with more, or relate to better. This is the same man to whom the Holy Spirit gave Romans 8:28. He chased Mark home for being a whiny momma’s boy and he loved and advocated for a slave named Philemon. To find “delight” in the circumstances he mentions either makes him a masochist or a genuine model of living faithfully submitted Christ.

Leave a Reply

